Glo-CAF Awards: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Beats Yaya Toure

Glo-CAF Awards: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Beats Yaya Toure

We can now say Jide Alaka was right when he said Yaya Toure doesn’t deserve to be Glo-CAF footballer of the year. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang was voted the CAF Footballer of the Year while Yaya Toure was named runners-up at the 2015 Glo-CAF Awards held Thursday night in Abuja, Nigeria.

In a vote of coaches and technical directors of Caf nations, Aubameyang got 143 points, with Manchester City midfielder Toure on 136 and Ghana and Swansea midfielder Ande Ayew on 112.

Aubameyang is the first player from his country to win the award.

Toure said he was “quite disappointed” but praised “brilliant” Aubameyang.

Toure had won the award for the last four years and was recently crowned BBC African footballer of the year for 2015.

He lifted the Nations Cup trophy in February last year as Ivory Coast took the African crown for the first time in more than 20 years.

Aubameyang is the Bundesliga’s leading scorer so far this season, with 18 goals in 17 league games.

The Gabonese star thanked his family, team-mates and the Gabon president Ali Bongo Ondimba, who hailed Aubameyang’s “dazzling intuition” and “an attack of unparalleled velocity”.

For his 10 goals in seven matches that helped Nigeria win the Under-17 World Cup for a record fifth time Victor Osimhen was crowned Youth Player of the Year.

Herve Renard, who managed Ivory Coast to their Africa Cup of Nations victory, won the coach of the year award.

The Frenchman, who led Zambia to victory in the tournament in 2012, is the first person to coach two different countries to the title.

Mbwana Aly Samatta, the Tanzanian star who helped his club side TP Mazembe to the African Champions League title, was crowned African-based player of the year.

Mazembe were named club of the year, having also represented Africa at the Club World Cup, while Ivory Coast and Cameroon were respectively named men’s and women’s national team of the year.

Gaelle Enganamouit of Cameroon was named women’s player of the year. She starred as the Indomitable Lionesses reached the second round of the Women’s World Cup, having qualified for the tournament for the first time in their history.

Other Awards:

Most Promising Talent of the Year – Peter Etebo Oghenejaro (Nigeria)

Referee of the Year – Papa Bakary Papa Gassama (The Gambia)

Leader of the Year – Abdiqani Said Arab (Somalia)

Fair Play Award – Allez Casa Supporters Group (Senegal)

African Legend – CK Gyamfi (Ghana) and Samuel Mbappe Leppe (Cameroon)

Africa’s Finest XI of 2015:

Goalkeeper: Robert Kidiaba (DR Congo)

Defenders: Serge Aurier (Ivory Coast), Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia), Mohamed Meftah (Algeria)

Midfielders: Andre Ayew (Ghana), Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast), Sadio Mane (Senegal), Yacine Brahimi (Algeria),

Forwards: Mbwana Aly Samatta (Tanzania), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon), Baghdad Bounedjah (Algeria)

Substitutes: Djigui Diarra (Mali), Azubuike Okechukwu (Nigeria), Kelechi Nwakali (Nigeria), Zinedine Ferhat (Algeria), Adama Traore (Mali), Victor Osimhen (Nigeria), Kermit Erasmus (South Africa)

Click HERE to subscribe to this blog via email for immediate notification.

You may also like

1 comment

  1. Thanks for your posting. What I want to say is that when looking for a good on the internet electronics go shopping, look for a web page with total information on important factors such as the security statement, safety details, payment methods, as well as other terms and policies. Usually take time to look at help and FAQ areas to get a much better idea of the way the shop works, what they are able to do for you, and just how you can maximize the features.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge