Messi Wins Fifth FIFA Ballon D’Or

Messi wins record fifth FIFA Ballon d’Or

Barcelona and Argentina forward, Lionel Messi, has won the FIFA Ballon d’Or award for 2015.

Messi, who picked the award for a record fifth time, won ahead of three time winner Real Madrid and Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo and Barcelona and Brazil forward Neymar in the annual poll organised by soccer’s governing body FIFA.

Messi was indeed outstanding in the period under review as the 28-year-old also broke the record for the most hat-tricks in Spanish football history and most La Liga assists during 2015, finishing the year by scoring in the FIFA Club World Cup final and then again on his 500th appearance for the club.

In another category, Luis Enrique was named men coach of the year after he led Barcelona to La Liga and Champion League victory.

America’s Jill Ellis was named women coach of the year after she led America to Women World Cup victory in Canada last year. America’s Carli Lloyd was also named Women footballer of the year.

Fifa XI consisted majorly of players from the Spanish league, La Liga. They include Manuel Neuer, Marcelo, Silva, Sergio Ramos, Dani Alves, Andres Iniesta, Luka Modric, Pogba, Neymar, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge