The world’s biggest social network, Facebook, has announced plans to roll out what I will call a cool breakup option.
Now as soon as you change your relationship status to say you’re no longer in a relationship, you’ll be given a host of new options including: to untag yourself from photos of you and your ex, limiting “the photos, videos or status updates that a former partner will see”, untagging yourself from posts with that person, and keeping them off your news feed.
The feature will allow people who have split up with a spouse or partner to turn on an option that spares them the emotional pain of constantly seeing their ex-lover’s posts and pictures in their news feed on the world’s largest social network.
The option is designed for people who do not want to risk offending a former husband, wife, girlfriend or boyfriend by taking the more extreme step of ejecting or blocking them from their Facebook network.
“This work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for people who may be going through difficult moments in their lives,” Facebook product manager Kelly Winters said in a blog post.
Facebook will begin testing the break-up protection on mobile devices in the US before deciding whether to offer it to all of its 1.5 billion account holders worldwide – so maybe hold off on ending that relationship for just a bit longer.