#AMVCA2016: Bukky Ajayi Wins Industry Merit Award, See Full List Of Winners

#AMVCA2016: Bukky Ajayi Wins Industry Merit Award, See Full List Of Winners

The 2016 edition of the Africa Magic Viewer’s Choice Awards (AMVCA) held last night in Lagos, Nigeria.

#AMVCA2016: Bukky Ajayi Wins Industry Merit Award, See Full List Of Winners

I was particularly touched by 2016 AMVCA Industry Merit Awards – Bukky Ajayi & Sadiq Daba. Bukky Ajayi to me is an Idol, a woman I loved watching. You can imagine the shock on my face when I saw her state. Now old but still has that effect. I wish I could give her a big hug. Big thank you to #AMVCA for recognizing her work all through the years. That moment remains the emotional moment for me at the awards.

Ayanda and Dry were the big winners of the night. Akin Omotosho walked away with the best director award while Adesua Etomi best Actress winner. I screamed the building down for Falz! I mean, this guy makes me laugh…weldone!

And yes my darling Genevieve Nnaji got something too. Congratulations to the nominees and the winners, you all make us proud.

Here are the winners for Amstel Malta’s Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards (AMVCA):Best Art Director – Frank Raja Arase for “The Refugees”Best TV Series – Ariyike Oladipo for “Daddy’s Girls”Best Makeup Artist– Louiza Calore for “Ayanda”Best Cinematography – Paul Michaelson for “Tell Me Sweet Something”Best Sound Editor – Marquez Jose Guillermo for “Dry”Best Picture Editor – Shirley Frimpong-Manso for “Rebecca”Best Costume Design – Uche NBest Local Language (Yoruba) – Abiodun Jomoh & Jumoke Odetola for “Binta Ofege”Best Local Language (Igbo) – Paul Igwe for “Usekwu Igbo”Best Documentary – Remi Vaughan Richards for “Faaji Agba”Best Supporting Actor – Sambassa Nseribe for “A Soldier’s Story”Best Supporting Actress – Tunbosun Aiyedehin “Before 30”Best Actor (Comedy) – Folarin Falz Falana for “Jenifa’s Diary”Best Actress (Comedy) – Funke Akindele for “Jenifa’s Diary”2016 AMVCA Trailblazer – Kemi Lala Akindoju2016 AMVCA Industry Merit Awards – Bukky Ajayi & Sadiq DabaBest Movie (Southern Africa) – “Lilongwe” by Joyce Mhango ChavulaBest Movie (Eastern Africa) – “Mapenzi” by Elizabeth MichaelBest Movie (Western Africa) – “Road To Yesterday” by Chinny Onwugbenu, Genevieve Nnaji & Chichi NwokoBest Actress (Drama) – Adesua Etomi for “Falling”Best Actor (Drama) – Daniel K. Daniel for “A Soldier’s Story”Best Director – Akin Omotosho for “Tell Me Sweet Something”Best Overall Movie – “Dry” by Stephanie Linus

Best Short film /Online Video –  Oluseyi Amuwa – A Day With Death

Best Drama Writer – Trish Malone – Ayanda

Best Lighting Designer – Stanlee Ohikhuare – Common Man

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge