6 Nigerians Make CNN Multichoice African Journalist 2016 Finalist List

6 Nigerians Make CNN Multichoice African Journalist 2016 Finalist List - elsieisy blog

Six Nigerians made the list of finalists of the prestigious CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2016 Competition, as announced yesterday, July 18, by Ferial Haffajee, Chair of the independent judging panel. The competition received 1637 entries this year, a record number, from 38 countries across the continent, including French and Portuguese-speaking Africa. The finalists will enjoy an all-expense paid four day programme of workshops, media forums and networking in Johannesburg, South Africa, culminating in a Gala Award Ceremony in October 2016. Tony Maddox, Executive Vice-President and Managing Director of CNN International said in a statement: “This year has seen a record number of entries for the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards, from a diverse array of countries across the continent. The passion which African journalists display for telling compelling and top class stories knows no bounds. Once more, CNN proudly continues its commitment to encouraging inspired journalistic excellence with these awards.” See list of the 38 finalists from 14 countries: Adedayo Eriye Oketola, Saturday Punch, NigeriaAderonke Bello, naij.com, NigeriaAncillar Mangena, Forbes Africa, South AfricaAsha Ahmed Mwilu & Rashid Idi, Kenya Television Network, KenyaAti Metwaly, Al Ahram Weekly, EgyptBento Venâncio, Jornal Domingo, MozambiqueBidossèssi Appolinaire Agoïnon, Office de Radiodiffusion et Télévision du Bénin, BeninCheboite Kigen, Daily Nation Newspaper, KenyaChika Oduah, Nigeria, Freelancer at African Media Initiative, KenyaCleófas Viagem, STV, MozambiqueConan Daniel Businge & Gerald Tenywa, New Vision, UgandaCoulibaly Zoumana, Le Patriote, Ivory CoastDiana Neille, Richard Poplak, Shaun Swingler and Sumeya Gasa, Daily Maverick Chronicle, South AfricaDominic Omondi, The Standard, KenyaEromo Egbejule, Freelancer at Ventures Africa, NigeriaFaten Hayed, El Watan, AlgeriaFidelto Emidio Bata, STV, MozambiqueFolashade Adebayo, The Punch, NigeriaGarreth van Niekerk, City Press, South AfricaIsaac Otidi Amuke, Commonwealth Writers, KenyaJames Oatway, The Sunday Times, South AfricaJay Caboz, Forbes Africa, South AfricaJean-Luc Emile, Teleplus, MauritiusJohn Grobler, Namibia, and Fiona Macleod, Oxpeckers Investigative Environmental Journalism, South AfricaLawrence Seretse, The Botswana Gazette, BotswanaMia Malan, Mail & Guardian, South AfricaTeresa Fuquiadi, Jornal Nova Gazeta, AngolaVeronica Narkwor Kwabla, Tv3 Network, GhanaVeronica Onuchi, TVC News Africa, NigeriaYemisi Akinbobola, Ogechi Ekeanyanwu & Paul Bradshaw, IQ4News for Premium Times, Nigeria 

You may also like

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge